Court Room. Having passed down succeeding generations of the family The Manor was finally sold in 1920 by Thomas Heathcote and a long and successful family association ended.
‘One of these houses especially interested us, a substantial stone building with mullioned windows, set slightly back from the roadway and approached between two massive pillars surmounted by round stone balls. It is not perhaps actually picturesque, but it had such a charming air of quiet dignity, and looked so historical in a mild manner, as to make the modern villa seem a trumperty affair. It was a house that struck you as having been built originally for the owner to live in and to enjoy, in contradistinction to which the ‘desirable residence’ of today seems to me to be built to sell. The stones of this old house wore splashes of gold and silver lichen. What a difference there is between the wealth of colour hues of a time tinted country building and the begrimed appearance of a smoke stained London dwelling’ James John Hissey ‘Over Fen and Wold’ London 1898
THE 20th CENTURY
John Joseph Baker purchased the Manor House with its farmland from Thomas Heathcote and on his death in 1949 it passed to his son, Oliver George Baker. Eighteen years later an architect, John Howard Leech, acquired the house for £5000 and spent a great deal of time and money in carefully restoring it. In 1984 its ownership passed to Duncan Alexander Lingard, a timber merchant, who in turn sold it to Ian Grant on his return from Brazil. The present owners purchased The Manor House in 2000. They have no claim to fame, but interestingly their lives lightly touched the history for Howard Carr’s pre-college farming year was spent on a Clinton Estate dairy farm in East Devon, in the 1990s he was a Director of the successor to the East India Company, and his eldest brother was Chairman of Governors at Westminster School.
‘At the bottom on the right is the Manor House, a Restoration type of house, though the doorway suggests an early 18th Century date. Yet the windows are still of two lights, mullioned, with straight entablature, and the roof is still steeply hipped. Three storey porch with top pediment. The best rooms are at piano mobile level.’ Nikolaus Pevsner Buildings of England 1964